Personality/Working Style

I took a new role which is out of my comfort zone. And I have also read 5 really good books in the past 5 months that helped me get a very good perspective on life in general. I also gained insights into my personality, individuality and work styles. Here are some of the things I realized about myself in the past 2 months.

  1. I don’t work! I solve problems, come up with brilliant ideas and ask the right questions. I dealt with myself wrong all these years. When ever I pushed myself to ‘work’, it doesn’t work! I cannot just force myself to work. If I spend time defining a problem in my mind, I automatically spend enough time in solving it.
  2. Thinking drives my action. I need to first think clearly about something. Only after I have given something enough thought can I act on it. My best does not come when I have not spent enough time thinking.
  3. Patience is my strength and I can beat most people in it.
  4. I am more creative when I work by myself. I suck at collaboration. When collaborating, I just let other people do the talking.
  5. Meetings suck the life out of me(and most other people). Preparation is the key to having productive meetings at work. I suck at meetings if I am unprepared.
  6. I don’t enjoy big groups (unless there is good humor flowing around). I am more comfortable in small groups. I like to connect with people one-on-one and have meaningful conversations
  7. I can concentrate really well when the problem or task is clearly defined. Ill-defined phrases like ‘hard work’ do not make sense to me.
  8. I am not a detail oriented person. But can spend hours discussing ideas.
  9. Humor is one of the things that keeps me going. It is indispensable for living a sane life!
  10. I don’t like to control people. And I don’t like it when people try to control me. This is not a new realization. But I understood it more clearly.
  11. I am an introvert. I realized it a few years ago, but over the past few weeks realized the significance and the impact on my work style more and more.
Leave a Reply

